Bolter

Will technology aka the internet/computers take the place of printed press such as books, newspapers, magazines etc.? I’ve wondered this prior to reading the first two chapters in Bolter’s Writing Space.  When I started college four years ago I also became an owner of a nook. I’ve always enjoyed reading and was attached to my tangible escapes, but was against anything that threatened to part me from them. College, however, is expensive and I thought getting a nook might put a dent into my textbook coasts. Plus textbooks are heavy; the thought of lugging them around campus was enough to make my shoulders and back start to hurt.  I purchased my first Ereader and was very sad to learn it could not hold textbooks it just allowed me to have the textbook on my laptop, which is also heavy. In the end I didn’t want to waste money so I bought books off of my Ereader and found it to be just as enjoyable as my real-world books only I could have all of my books with me at all times not just one.  I still however, purchase books and read them, now I’m just choosier with the ones I pick to buy.

With that being said I agree with Bolter’s remediation definition. Bolter describes remediation as, “a newer medium takes the place of an older one, borrowing and reorganizing the characteristics of writing in the older medium and reforming its cultural space.” Basically it’s how technologies progress, and adapt to us and our needs. These technologies have progressed through the twenty three years of my life. I remember having to write everything down, including final copies of papers I had to write for school. Now it’s almost mandatory to type everything, forcing us to retire the old pencil and paper.

These technological advances have not only changed the way I read and produce written or typed material but it has altered the way I receive information. Bolter says that, “a printed book must do more: it must speak to an economically viable or culturally important group of readers.” What he’s saying is printed books are narrow or limiting. Whereas electronic writing for the mere fact of being connected with the internet has many different pieces on the same topic in numerous forms such as articles, blogs, statuses, tweets etc. Bolter says, “hypertextual writing can go further, because it can change for each reader and with each reading.” The computer is equivalent to the biggest book or library in the world, it offers every genre, numerous authors, and in any form that could cater to your specific needs. It’s obvious that our written world is progressing, how could it not with the creation of the computer? I just hope that we keep a piece of the past by keeping books in our future as well.

 

Leave a Reply

