Filter Bubbles

Eli Pariser’s TED Talk, “Beware Online: Filter Bubbles” was a very interesting segment. Pariser coined the term ‘filter bubble’, which he defines as a state in which a website algorithm selectively guesses what information a user would like to see based on information about the user, such as location and past history searches. As a result, users will not have access to all information that is truly available to them. Search results are limited, therefore creating a bubble.  

I was shocked to learn that the internet filters what people are searching for. This sucks! When I search something on the internet, I want to know all options available to me, regardless of location or anything else. That’s the reason why people use search engines such as Google: to find something. Options should not be limited because of these filters. In order to reduce and ultimately eliminate filter bubbles, users need to be diverse in their internet searches.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by silkk26. Bookmark the permalink.

About silkk26

My name is Katie Silk and I am a Writing Arts/Education student at Rowan University. My hobbies include reading, writing, and driving. FUN FACT: I am the youngest of seven children and have 14 nieces and nephews.

3 thoughts on “Filter Bubbles

  1. Like you, Katie, I too was shocked to find out everything we do on the internet is being watched and filtered. I was wondering how many posts i might have missed because of my close minded high school days, which only consisted of me caring about Gossip Girl and Pretty Little Liars. I really am scared to how they are molding us to only be subjected to the things they want us to view. I can only wonder what else is next for us!

  2. I too found this realization startling and scary. To think the computer knows us well enough to decide we would find certain things irrelevant therefore eliminating them from our search engines is beyond crazy! What I fear is this type of information getting into the wrong hands and people having the ability to change or control our identity on the web. Also if they can control what we see or don’t see, what’s stopping them from manipulating us into thinking or believing things we wouldn’t if we got all of the facts instead of just the ones they decided to show us?

  3. I was shocked as well when I watched this video. I do not want my searching to be confined to what they “think” I will like. On top of that, they classify you by where you are and what kind of computer. It almost makes me think that no matter what we are always going to be judged.

Leave a Reply

