Reflection – Pecha Kucha

When Dana, Hailey, Katie and I began brainstorming for a specific topic, we decided to do our presentation on how technology in the classroom has affected learning and education. We decided to divide the slides by time periods. For example, I took the first five slides, which were dedicated to the mid to late 1980s. Being an adult learner, I remember this time period vividly. I can remember my seventh grade English teacher writing notes on a transparency on an overhead projector, using a thin black marker. When the page was full, she would have to roll it up with the lever to get to new page. The transparencies rolled up like film, and when they were full, she would remove them and keep them in her desk for future use. This was the extent of technology in the classroom throughout my elementary and high school years.

 

Dana, Hailey, and Katie R. took the rest of the slides respectively. It worked well because we all have memories of the time periods we individually decided to present, and we knew that experience would enhance the presentation, and I think it did.

 

While technology can sometimes be a challenge for me, I enjoyed doing this presentation. It gave me more knowledge and experience with different technologies afforded to me that I’ve always been afraid to use. It’s amazing how many websites are out there. Their possibilities are endless.  There is a web site for literally everything you can think of. Even more amazing is that this technology is now available at your fingertips. You can get an education anywhere, any time with the click of a mouse. I can’t help but wonder what technology will be like in the year 2030.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by silkk26. Bookmark the permalink.

About silkk26

My name is Katie Silk and I am a Writing Arts/Education student at Rowan University. My hobbies include reading, writing, and driving. FUN FACT: I am the youngest of seven children and have 14 nieces and nephews.

Leave a Reply

